In the early 1930s it was the 400 Bridge Club, complete with drinking, dancing girls and gambling; by 1935, it was the Country Gardens; a few years later it was Penny Morgan’s Place, a well-known brothel.
Finally, by the early 1940s, it was called the Airport Tavern, named for the Port Mills Airport on Meister Road just a few minutes away.
Well, here’s another piece of the historic puzzle. It’s an ad for a Grand Opening of the Airport Tavern that appeared in the November 19, 1946 Lorain Journal – 69 years ago this month.
The night club’s bar and dance area had just been remodeled and a modern kitchen added.
What’s interesting is that the name of the manager (Bruno Dombroski) and proprietor (Alex Hormanski) are listed in the ad. Thus, a few more details in the history of the place are filled in.
Today, the building’s location on Oberlin Avenue – nestled near modern banks, a fast food outlet and retail stores – continues to belie its colorful past.
|August 2015 photo|